End of Season Awards

A great night out at Strada in the Hub in Central MK for the end of season dinner and awards. Really nice to see so many new faces there, especially from the latest “Learn to Row” course, with Tom, Thomas, Fred, Roger, Andrea and Frances all there.

The awards for the season went to:

Oarsperson of the Year: Jo Heywood
A central figure in the top ladies crew this year, winning so many events, Jo not only contributed directly to their success but also freely passed on her knowledge and experience to help drive the crew on

Most Improved: Charlene Mills
Having been pushed (unwillingly!) into Stroke for the ladies crew, Charlene has gone from strength to strength through the year, driving the crew forward and improving all aspects of her rowing through the season

Club Person of the Year: Karen Wilson
Despite several other strong contenders, Karen’s immense contribution to the “Learn to Row” programme and her utter determination to keep helping despite serious injury saw her most deservedly pick up this award

Special mention: Dean Abraham
In recognition of his huge contribution to the Ladies squad this year, taking a talented but disorganised group of women under his wing and turning them into a real force to be reckoned with, putting up with the tears and tantrums to put together a squad that just got used to winning wherever they went!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: